Our Lady Of Furness Catholic Federation

Lovingly we Learn in Harmony



Both schools in Our Lady of Furness Catholic Federation follow the 2014 National Curriculum.  Teachers work together so that the same objectives are taught across the federation.  Below are the documents showing the curriculum coverage in each year group.


Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6


Long Term Plans

Along with their partner teacher(s) from the other school, teachers create a yearly plan to ensure coverage and progression.  These are on a two year cycle.

Year 5 and 6 Long Term Plan (Year A)

Year 5 and 6 Long Term Plan (Year B)

Year 3 and 4 Long Term Plan (Year A)

Year 3 and 4 Long Term Plan (Year B)

Nursery and Reception


Religious Education

As a Catholic School, we follow the guidance set out by the Bishops' Conference in 2012.  To meet these requirements, we use the CTS scheme, 'The Way the Truth and the Life', which is supplemented by teachers' own planning.

Whole School Syllabus Overview

In Key Stage One, R.E. is taught to individual year groups.  In Key Stage Two, there is a two year cycle between the Year 3 and Year 4 syllabus for Class Three, and the Year 5 and Year 6 syllabus for Class Four.

Each term, we have an RE theme day, where the children are taught in mixed aged house groups, and focus on an aspect of the church. 

If you require any further information about the curriculum in a particular year group, please make an appointment to see your child's class teacher.


Reading and Phonics

In EYFS and KS1, phonics is taught using a combination of 'Letters and Sounds' and 'Jolly Phonics'.  We use the 'Oxford Reading Tree' scheme, supplemented with other books banded in the same way.



For more information on the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum in our Federation, please click here.